GOP State Lawmakers Call on Governor to Convene a Special Session to Suspend Gas Tax

California drivers are paying over $2 more than those in other states

Californians are paying as much as $7.39 for a gallon of gas with a statewide average of $5.89, while the national average is $3.83. This skyrocketing price cuts into families’ already strained finances. Republican lawmakers call upon the Governor to convene a special session of the Legislature to temporarily suspend the state’s gas tax.

Below and attached is a copy of their letter:

September 28, 2023

The Honorable Gavin Newsom
1021 O Street
Sacramento CA, 95814

Dear Governor Newsom,

Gas prices are once again soaring, and Californians are paying $2 more per gallon than the rest of the country. Drivers are spending more than $100 each month just on gas. This elevated energy cost cuts into family’s already strained budgets.

We ask you to call a special session of the Legislature to temporarily suspend the state’s gas tax. Californians are paying $0.58 per gallon to the state. Immediate relief is needed.

California is an energy island with isolated resources which makes our state reliant on foreign imports if more domestic production is not allowed.

In December 2022, you convened a special session of the Legislature and unveiled a proposed penalty on oil production. With prices again near record highs, Californians are rightfully upset as current policies are not working.

As you are aware, there was a temporary suspension of the diesel sales tax in a previous budget. Energy experts have noted the lack of production permits and an isolated energy market that places more cost burdens on hard-working Californians.

Hence, we call upon you to convene a special session of the Legislature to temporarily suspend the gas tax. By suspending the gas tax, everyday Californians can better afford to commute to work and drive their children to school and work.


Vince Fong
Assemblymember, 32nd District

James Gallagher
Assemblymember, 3rd District

Megan Dahle
Assemblymember, 1st District

Joe Patterson
Assemblymember, 5th District

Josh Hoover
Assemblymember, 7th District

Jim Patterson
Assemblymember, 8th District

Heath Flora
Assemblymember, 9th District

Juan Alanis
Assemblymember, 22nd District

Devon Mathis
Assemblymember, 33rd District

Tom Lackey
Assemblymember, 34th District

Greg Wallis
Assemblymember, 47th District

Phillip Chen
Assemblymember, 59th District

Bill Essayli
Assemblymember, 63rd District

Tri Ta
Assemblymember, 70th District

Kate Sanchez
Assemblymember, 71st District

Diane Dixon
Assemblymember, 72nd District

Laurie Davies
Assemblymember, 74th District

Marie Waldron
Assemblymember, 75th District

Brian Dahle
Senator, 1st District

Roger Niello
Senator, 6th District

Shannon Grove
Senator, 12th District

Scott Wilk
Senator, 21st District

Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh
Senator, 23rd District

Kelly Seyarto
Senator, 32nd District

Janet Nguyen
Senator, 36th District

Brian Jones
Senator, 40th District

# # #


Assemblyman Vince Fong represents the 32nd Assembly District, which encompasses Kern and Tulare Counties.