Assemblyman Vince Fong Appointed to Serve on Select Committee on Retail Theft

In recognizing Assemblyman Vince Fong’s efforts to bring accountability back into the fight against crime, California State Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas appointed him to the Select Committee on Retail Theft.

“Each time we see videos or read about brazen flash-mob robberies, our sense of safety and security is eroded,” said Assemblyman Fong (R-Central Valley). “Working with our law enforcement, there must be real consequences to criminal behavior.”

“Accountability must be brought back. There must be teeth in the laws to change behavior and set a standard of decorum for a civilized society.”

Chaired by Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur (D-Hollywood), the Select Committee on Retail Theft will provide a forum to engage impacted stakeholders to identify policy solutions to this ongoing crisis.

Currently, Los Angeles County has the highest rate of commercial robbery. In 2022, Fresno, Kern and San Francisco incurred the highest rates of commercial burglary.

The 11 Committee members are:

Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur (D-Hollywood) – Committee Chair
Assemblymember Juan Alanis (R-Merced & Stanislaus)
Assemblymember David Alvarez (D-San Diego)
Assemblymember Mia Bonta (D-Alameda & San Francisco)
Assemblymember Vince Fong (R-Kern & Tulare)
Assemblymember Matt Haney (D-San Francisco)
Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento)
Assemblymember Liz Ortega (D-Alameda)
Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco (D-Los Angeles & Orange)
Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris (D-Orange)
Assemblymember Pilar Schiavo (D-Los Angeles)

The Select Committee on Retail Theft will convene later this year and continue its work through the 2024 legislative session.

# # #


Assemblyman Vince Fong represents the 32nd Assembly District, which encompasses Kern and Tulare Counties.